Contact lenses are an easy, safe and visually appealing way for millions of people to correct their vision. Many do not think twice about putting the thin, clear lens on their eye.

But do you know how to properly care for your contact lenses?

Read more

Mark Swanson, OD, professor at the UAB School of Optometry, has been selected to serve on the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry’s (ASCO) Audit Committee for the 2019-2020 program year. This committee helps with the proactive oversight of the association’s financial and compliance reporting process, the external audit process and financial controls.

This fall, the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry (UABSO) proudly celebrates its 50th anniversary, a tremendous milestone that cements the school’s legacy as one of the premier programs in the nation.

Myopia, which means nearsightedness, comes from two Greek words meaning “close” and “eyes,” probably from the squinting that myopic patients do in order to see better.

Read more

By Tyra Rocker

Andrew May, OD, and Barrett Martin, OD, of Johnson Optometric Associates (JOA) add a little flair to their clinic and the optometry business by making and sharing parody music videos on YouTube.

Dr. Roberts is a graduate of Nova Southeastern University with a Bachelor’s in Vision Science and a Doctorate of Optometry. Since then, he completed a residency at Nova in Primary Eye Care with an emphasis in Pediatrics and Binocular Vision. He is one of our newest assistant professors and also sees patients and works with students in Pediatrics, Specialty Clinic Peds-Neuro, Primary Care, and serves on the admissions committee.

 This year at the 2019 National Optometric Association (NOA) National Convention, five UAB School of Optometry students and alumni were awarded scholarships, honored and elected to leadership positions for the National Optometric Student Association (NOSA).

 Keshia Elder, OD, MS, FAAO, associate professor at the UAB School of Optometry, has been appointed as an associate editor for the journal Optometric Education by the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO).

Degree Awarded: O.D.

Graduation Year: 2016

Update: I purchased an established private practice in Albertville, Alabama in August 2017 from Dr. Randall Hoerth, who has since retired. We have a diverse patient base that allows me to see all ages, manage a variety of eye disease, co-manage with specialists as well as fit specialty contacts. In the spring of this year I added a partner, Dr. Katie Greer (UABSO '17) and opened a second office in Guntersville on July 2nd.

After 45 years of service to the UAB School of Optometry, Robert Kleinstein, OD, MPH, PhD, retires knowing that he impacted the optometry profession as an educator and clinician-scientist.

Kelly Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD, FAAO, dean of the UAB School of Optometry, was named the 2019 Donald R. Korb Award recipient. This award is given by the American Optometric Association (AOA) Contact Lens and Cornea Section in recognition of an individual who has been a true innovator and leader in the field of contact lenses and anterior segment disease.

Monica Kennedy, OD, started wearing glasses when she was in middle school and the ride home with her first pair of glasses was the beginning of a life-changing experience. She could see the leaves on the trees and blades of grass on the ground that were no longer meshes of green.

After 42 years of service, James Marbourg, O.D., announced his retirement from the UAB School of Optometry.

The University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry’s Pediatric Optometry Service, in partnership with the UAB Department of Ophthalmology, and a pediatric optometrist have been recognized by the Pediatric Eye Disease Investigator Group (PEDIG), a collaborative network supported by the National Eye Institute and dedicated to facilitating multi-institutional clinical research in eye disorders that affect children.

Dr. Tim Kraft is a graduate of MIT, University of Minnesota Minneapolis, and Stanford University with degrees in Biology, Physiology, and Post Doc Neurobiology. He joined the Ophthalmology department in 1993 as an Assistant Professor. Today, he is the Interim Associate Dean for Research and the Chair of the Department of Optometry and Vision Science. His areas of specialty are photoreceptor physiology and retinal degeneration.

Dr. Micah Kinney is the 30th Aerospace optometrist for the U.S. Navy and currently assigned as the Aerospace/Research Optometrist at the Naval Medical Research Unit Dayton, Dayton, OH. In this position, he works with DoD aviation communities to enhance performance, understand visual needs, determine vision standards, and protect warfighter vision.

The American Optometrist Association awarded Benjamin P. Casella, OD, an alumnus of the UAB School of Optometry, the 2019 Optometrist of the Year Award at the Optometry’s Meeting in St. Louis.

With the beginning of summer come hot, bright and sunny days when you will most definitely find yourself in need of adequate eye protection. But how can you find the best sunglasses with so many options to choose from?

Following nearly five years of service to the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry, Michael Twa, O.D., Ph.D., FAAO, received the Dean’s Distinguished Service Award in 2019. This award is given only when an individual rises to the occasion in an exceptional way.