• SHP creates Wellness/DEI Celebration Trails

    The UAB School of Health Professions’ Wellness and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committees collaborated to create tours of the murals and landmarks that celebrate Birmingham’s history in the Civil Rights Movement, plus, today’s efforts for justice and healing. These tours can be enjoyed walking, driving or online.

  • Eidson honored for excellence in teaching

    Christopher Eidson, assistant professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy, is one of twelve UAB faculty selected to receive the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. The honor is given to those who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments in teaching.

  • Department of Occupational Therapy celebrates first doctoral graduate

    Tamara Traber is the first graduate of our Clinical Doctorate in Occupational Therapy program, a degree designed to prepare experienced occupational therapists for important leadership roles in health care, academia and advocacy for professional and community organizations.

  • UAB OT and PT rise in 2020 U.S. News & World Report rankings

    The UAB Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy graduate programs each move up in the latest U.S. News & World Report “America’s Best Grad Schools” rankings. The MSOT program is now #23 and the DPT program is now #13.

  • OT students named UAB Diversity Champions

    The University of Alabama at Birmingham honored six students in the School of Health Professions' M.S. in Occupational Therapy program with the President’s Diversity Champion Award at a celebration on February 20, 2020. The annual award recognizes employees, students and organizations that have helped create a more culturally diverse, inclusive university community through their achievements.

  • Team of SHP faculty earn NIXLA certificates

    Five members of the UAB School of Health Professions faculty earned certificates for completing the National Inclusive Excellence Leadership Academy (NIXLA). Members of the Class of 2019 are Dina Avery, DHSc, Brenda Bertrand, Ph.D., April Rollins-Kyle, MAEd, Sarah Tucker, Ph.D., and Neena Xavier, M.D.

  • Chris Eidson earns ALOTA Ann Cosby Service Award

    Chris Eidson, MS, OTR/L, assistant professor in the UAB School of Health Professions’ Department of Occupational Therapy, is the Alabama Occupational Therapy Association‘s (ALOTA) 2019 Ann Cosby Service Award winner.

  • SHP Dean Named to ASAHP and Lakeshore Foundation Board of Directors

    Andrew Butler, Ph.D., dean of the UAB School of Health Professions, was recently elected to the Lakeshore Foundation and the Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions Board of Directors. Butler, who became dean of SHP in July 2019, came to UAB from the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions at Georgia State University where he was associate dean for Research and director of the Clinical Neuroplasticity Lab.

  • UAB students, alumni, faculty adapt electric cars for special needs children

    Faculty and alumni from the UAB Department of Physical Therapy, along with students from the UAB Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) program, were joined by students from UAB’s Department of Occupational Therapy and School of Engineering, to adapt electric toy cars for Alabama children with disabilities as part of the nationwide GoBabyGo program.

  • Examining perceptions of accessibility symbols

    By Adam Pope, UAB Media Relations

    The perpetual association of current symbols with wheelchair users has been criticized for insufficiently representing individuals with other disability types.Recent research from the UAB School of Health Professions Department of Occupational Therapy has assessed individual comprehension and perceptions of nine existing and newly created accessibility pictograph symbols, and it identified one that represented universal access to fitness equipment.

  • Jana Cason, UAB OT alumna, wins national AOTA award

    Jana Cason, DHS, OTR/L, FAOTA, alumna of UAB Occupational Therapy Class of 1998, is the 2019 American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) Emerging and Innovative Practice Award.

  • Butler named dean of UAB School of Health Professions

     The University of Alabama at Birmingham has named Andrew J. Butler, MPT, MBA, Ph.D., dean of the UAB School of Health Professions following a national search.

  • Slovensky to be interim dean of Health Professions

    Donna Slovensky, Ph.D., professor and senior associate dean for Academic and Faculty Affairs in the School of Health Professions, will become the interim dean of the school April 1, when Dean Harold Jones will officially retire after a distinguished career of 18 years in that role.

  • Urban parks could make you happier

    Researchers from the UAB Department of Occupational Therapy have published new findings that suggest spending 20 minutes in an urban park will make someone happier regardless of whether they are engaging in exercise or not during the visit.

  • NIDILRR awards five-year grant to SHP team

    Researchers at the UAB School of Health Professions have been awarded a five-year, $4.625 million grant from the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living and Rehabilitation Research to translate a novel exercise program, referred to as Movement-2-Music, into several community-based fitness centers in Birmingham. 

  • Occupational Therapy’s Golden Toilet Award goes too…

    For the fourth year in a row, the UAB Department of Occupational Therapy handed out one of their most prized possessions – the infamous Golden Toilet Award. And the award goes too...

  • Two Rehabilitation Science students defend their PhD dissertations

    Two students in the UAB PhD in Rehabilitation Science program defended their doctoral dissertations in November. Anwar B S Almutairi and Sarah dos Anjos are the 9th and 10th students to defend in this young program that is an interdisciplinary program sponsored by the Departments of Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy.

  • UAB OT inducts 12 into Pi Theta Epsilon Honor Society

    The UAB School of Health Professions’ Department of Occupational Therapy inducted 12 students into the Alpha Beta Chapter of the Pi Theta Epsilon Honor Society.

  • Harold Jones to step down after 17 years as dean of Health Professions

    Harold Jones, Ph.D., dean of the School of Health Professions, has announced that he will be stepping down from his role as dean, pending arrival of his successor. Jones became dean of what then was known as the School of Health-Related Professions in April 2001, when it had a total of approximately 800 students. Today, it has more than 2,200 students.

  • UAB Excellence in Business highlights 7 alumni

    The UAB National Alumni Society has named seven UAB School of Health Professions’ (SHP) alumni to the UAB Excellence in Business Top 25.