The Heudebert Family 2022 DOM Argus Award Winners

The Department of Medicine is thrilled to announce its 2022 Argus Award Winners. Created in 1996, the Argus Awards give medical students the chance to honor their mentors, professors, courses, and course directors for outstanding service to medical education. Faculty members are nominated by course evaluations, and students vote to select award winners in each category. DOM faculty took home 12 awards, out of 36 nominations across 17 categories. Congratulations to each of you for your extraordinary investment in training medical students.

More Good News for January 13, 2023

Freiger Proposes Standardized RPM Job Description in the AJM

Residency Program Education Administrator Brandy Freiger, C-TAGME, examines an AAIM-endorsed job description for residency program managers to help clarify job responsibilities and improve retention.

Smith Joins NIH Research Board

Phillip Smith, M.D., (Professor, Gastroenterology & Hepatology) will serve on the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Division of Intramural Research Board of Scientific Counselors. Congrats, Dr. Smith!

Leisch Discusses Opioid Use Disorder on UAB MedCast

Leah Leisch, M.D., (Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine) highlights the prevalence and risks associated with opioid substance use disorder. She also details treatment options available to patients.

Anderson Examines CAR Cells in AML Subtype

In a mouse model, former Ph.D. student Nicholas Anderson (Hematology & Oncology) and colleagues find that micro- environmental CXCL12 deletion enhances Flt3-ITD acute myeloid leukemia stem cell response to therapy.