Explore UAB

Cardio Oncology

Internal Medicine residents Drs. Karen Campbell, Bria Carrithers, David Heaner, and Natasha Mehra were selected as 2022 Primary Care Scholars. The Tinsley Harrison Internal Medicine Residency Program established Primary Care Scholars in 2017 to promote the growth of primary care physicians. The program gives residents the opportunity to experience high-performing outpatient practices, gain understanding of team-based primary care, and to develop into future leaders of primary care. Congratulations to each of you!

More Good News for April 29, 2022

Vineeta Kumar, M.D., (Professor, Nephrology) discusses the use of Evusheld, a medication that contains protective antibodies against SARS-CoV-2 as an effective therapy for immune-compromised populations, such as transplant patients.

Anath Shalev, M.D., (Professor, Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism) was inducted into the Association of American Physicians, a prestigious honor which recognizes physician-scientists, who make the highest and most prestigious contributions to the advancement of medicine. Well-deserved, Dr. Shalev!

Carmen De Miguel, Ph.D., MS, (Assistant Professor, Nephrology) was accepted into the UC San Diego Future Faculty of Cardiovascular Sciences Program, an initiative committed to enhancing research education and mentoring underrepresented early-career faculty in biomedical sciences.

DOM Faculty Huachun Cui, Ph.D., Kayla Goliwas, Ph.D., and Qing Zhao, Ph.D., were awarded UAB Faculty Development Grants, which provide seed funding for early career faculty to pursue research, creative works and scholarly activity. Congrats!

Peter Pappas, M.D., Professor in the UAB Division of Infectious Diseases and Senior Scientist at the UAB O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center will present Emerging Fungal Infections at noon on Wednesday, May 4, via Zoom.