Explore UAB

Deans Excellence Award Back Row: Erin Snyder, M.D., Lauryn Schultz, MSHA, MBA, Terrance Reed, MBA, Mary Coleman Dobbins, MPH. Front Row: Amanda Brito, M.D., and Elizabeth Turnipseed, M.D., MSPH.

The Department of Medicine Clinical Leadership Team continues to grow in scope and expertise as we pursue our mission to provide exceptional patient care across the UAB enterprise. Each individual provides diverse perspectives to enrich the team.

Dr. Elizabeth Turnipseed serves as Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs and Chief of the Medical Staff, working with UAB Medicine leadership to strategically meet patient and provider needs. Dr. Erin Snyder is defining a new role as our inaugural physician director of Ambulatory Care, and Dr. Amanda Brito directs our efforts the Quality and Patient Safety domain.

On the administrative side, Lauryn Schultz is Senior Administrator for DOM Clinical Affairs working with Clinical Operations Administrator Mary Coleman Dobbins and Clinical Operations Manager Terrance Reed to collaborate with the School, Health System and the faculty across UAB's clinical settings.

Together, their work drives clinical expansions, establishes new programs, ensures quality care, expands access and improves efficiencies to enhance our patients’ experience at UAB.

More Good News for June 3, 2022

Mona Fouad, M.D., MPH, (Professor and Director, Preventive Medicine) received the 2022 Vilcek-Gold Award for Humanism in Healthcare. This honor recognizes outstanding immigrant health care professionals and their impact on accessible and compassionate care.

Hussein Abu Daya, M.D., (Assistant Professor, Cardiovascular Disease) and colleagues call for a concerted effort to expand vascular medicine training programs and ultimately increase the pool of vascular medicine specialists to meet the growing need.

Steve Stigler, M.D., (Associate Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) discusses how the UAB Medicine and Ascension St. Vincent's Chilton partnership will provide vital high-quality care to the county’s residents.

ABIM Pathway fellow Awal Chadha, M.D., won the 2022 William Wilson, MD, Endowed Young Investigator Award by the Conquer Cancer Foundation of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, which supports trainees transitioning to their independent research careers.

The American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases has established the Joseph Bloomer Advanced Transplant Hepatology Award in memory of the late Dr. Bloomer to enhance career development for exceptional hepatology trainees.

Pankaj Arora, M.D., (Associate Professor, Cardiovascular Disease) has received two new R01 grants—in addition to his April R01 award to study natriuretic peptides' relationship to nocturnal high blood pressure.

The second study will explore how increasing natriuretic peptides through the use of FDA-approved medications can help improve cardiometabolic health among Black Americans. This is a first-of-its-kind clinical study in the U.S. that will exclusively recruit Black adults.

The third project will study how genetically determined differences in natriuretic peptide levels regulate the handling of glucose metabolism and utilization of energy at rest and while exercising. This is also a first-of-its-kind clinical trial that will recruit healthy individuals through a "genome-first" approach.

Three cheers on three exciting awards, Dr. Arora!