Explore UAB

Carter Jackson L to R: Drs. Gabriela Gastanadui, John Craver, and Brian Westbrook  

UAB’s Medical Jeopardy Team from the Tinsley Harrison Internal Medicine Residency Program took home the coveted Osler Cup from the Alabama/Mississippi American College of Physicians Doctors Dilemma competition. Second-year residents Drs. Brian Westbrook, John Craver, and Gabriela Gastanadui participated in the contest which is a annual event that brings together the brightest residents from around the world in a “Jeopardy” style medical knowledge battle. The residents will represent the chapter at the national ACP meeting in San Diego next spring. Great job, team!

More Good News for June 17, 2022

Jennifer Trevor, M.D., (Associate Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care) and colleagues' publication in the New England Journal of Medicine shows an inhaled glucocorticoid in addition to usual care lowered the rate of severe asthma exacerbations in Black and Latinx populations.

Graduate student Christopher Yanucil and Christian Faul, Ph.D., (Associate Professor, Nephrology) find klotho, an anti-aging hormone, might serve as a novel cardio-protective therapy in chronic kidney disease patients with high FGF23 levels.

Winter Williams, M.D., (Associate Professor, General Internal Medicine) and colleagues recent investigation suggest that a prospective resident's specialty and medical school may impact subsequent geographic placement for residency training.

Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology fellow Raj Vachhani, M.D., has been elected president of the Alabama Society of Rheumatic Diseases, which encourages the advancement of rheumatology, advocates for patient access, and educates physicians across the state.

Cardiology fellow Christopher Ives, M.D., was named the 2022 Fellow Consultant of the Year, by Emergency Medicine. The honor is determined by residents to recognize of dedication to outstanding patient care, professionalism, and collegiality.

The Department of Medicine is delighted to celebrate Angela Thomas, Nurse Coordinator of the UAB Bronchiectasis Program in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine, as the DOM Star Award for Staff Excellence winner. Faculty, staff, and colleagues sent raving nomination letters detailing Thomas' impeccable contributions to UAB. Nominator Dr. Marty Solomon explains, "I have never been so impressed with a team member to provide seamless care for complex patients." Another colleague states, "She forges an atmosphere of trust and respect with each team member and patient." Thank you, Angela, for your impact on those around you. Congratulations for being named DOM's second quarter STAR!