Gene Siegal, M.D., Ph.D., UAB Distinguished Professor and Robert W. Mowry Endowed Professor and Executive Vice Chair, Department of Pathology, has been elected president of the International Society of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology (ISBSTP). Siegal was installed as president at the companion meeting of the society during the 2023 USCAP Annual Meeting.

Siegal was previously elected as vice-president of the ISBSTP in June 2021.

RS19133 Gene Siegal 3 scr

The ISBSTP is a nonprofit organization founded in 2001 in order to: 

  • Offer resources to bone and soft tissue professionals.
  • Encourage collaboration among members of the medical community related to soft tissue and bone.
  • Inform society members contact information of other society members, including those who accept consultations.
  • Offer information on conferences--both past and future.

“He has accomplished many diagnostic and molecular pathological investigations on bone and soft tissue tumors, which have been published in high impact peer-reviewed journals,” said former ISBTSP President Yoshinao Oda, M.D. “Past Editor-in-Chief of Laboratory Investigation, Dr. Siegal serves on the editorial board of multiple additional journals. We welcome Dr. Gene Siegal as our distinguished President of ISBSTP.”

During his more than 30-year tenure at UAB, Siegal has set a high standard through his professional, academic, research, and service contributions. In his current role as Executive Vice Chair, he delivers tremendous administrative support and experience to the operations of both the department and the institution.