Student Achievement

Joy Barros

Joy Barros, a Pensacola, Florida, native and graduate student pursing a doctorate in heath education/health promotion, has been named the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s inaugural Cramer Morgan Fellow.

Haley Kendrick

Imagine this, you’ve worked for months to submit an application for an NIH grant for your research. After all your hard work, you received the grant, great. Now it’s time to put the research dollars to work. You’ve conducted your research and publish it in a good journal. You’re doing good science and moving the field forward. You’re helping people.

Javeen Thomas

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Health Professions student Javeen Thomas has been named a winner of the Albert W. Dent Graduate Student Scholarship by the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE).

Reda-el Arafy

Originally featured on UAB The Mix.

There is a lot of money in space mining — theoretically. A company called Planetary Resources estimates that a single asteroid, 2011 UW158, which whizzed past our own planet last year, holds some $5 trillion in platinum.

Samuel Cauffman

Samuel Cauffman, a graduate student in the UAB School of Education, is the recipient of the 2016 Steven M. Horvath Travel Award by the American College of Sports Medicine. Cauffman is pursuing a master’s degree in exercise physiology in the Department of Human Studies.

Chris Radka and Rep. John Mica

I was selected to visit Washington, D.C. to represent UAB at the three-and-a-half day AAAS CASE (Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering) Workshop. This workshop was created to provide students who are interested in learning about Congress, the federal budget process and effective science communication an introduction into all of these topics as well as a deep dive into how science policy is enacted.

2016 CIRTL Awards Ceremony

50 awardees were honored on Wednesday April 27 at the 2016 CIRTL Awards Ceremony. To prepare for careers in STEM and Social Sciences, these graduate students and postdocs from across campus have undertaken training to develop their college teaching skills through UAB’s Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning.

Bray headshot.

The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing has selected Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing (PhD) students Leigh Ann Bray, MSN, RN, CNL, Rachael Mumbower, BSN, RN and Zoran Pavicevic, BSN, RN, MPH, MD, as its 2016-18 Jonas Scholars.

Elizabeth Bevan.

Elizabeth Bevan, a doctoral student in the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Biology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, is one of 90 doctoral students selected to receive a $15,000 Scholar Award from the P.E.O. Sisterhood.


The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship today announced the selection of its inaugural class of Alabama Schweitzer Fellows, including 11 graduate students from University of Alabama at Birmingham.