Dr. Stacey S. Cofield

The Graduate School is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Stacey S. Cofield, Associate Professor of Public Health, as the Associate Dean for Recruitment, Retention, & Diversity.

3 Minute Thesis logo

UAB Graduate School hosted its 2020 Virtual Three Minute Thesis competition November 2-6, and announced the winners at a Virtual Awards Ceremony November 9. There were 9 finalists in the competition. A panel of judges selected the top two competitors, while the third place was a People's Choice award.

 3MT at UAB

The Graduate School hosted its Virtual 3MT Semifinals October 8-22. There were 27 semifinalists and nine of those will advance to the Virtual 3MT Finals for one last chance to win $1,000 and a spot in the Regional Competition. The judging for the Finals Competition is November 2-6.


The 2019 UAB Annual Security and Fire Safety Report is now available online.


“Mentoring is a critical part of personal growth and development and affords a lifetime of opportunity to grow and develop.” ~ Lisa Fain, Bridging Differences for Better Mentoring: Lean Forward, Learn and Leverage


The UAB Graduate Dean's Excellence in Mentorship Award recognizes full-time regular UAB faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments as mentors of graduate students and/or postdoctoral fellows.


Nine graduate students were awarded the 2020 UAB National Alumni Society Dean’s Scholarship for the Fall 2020 semester. The $500 scholarship recognizes students for their excellent academic performance and outstanding leadership qualities as a UAB graduate student.

The Graduate School and Graduate Student Government is hosting its Fall 2020 Virtual Graduate Student Orientation on Tuesday, August 18, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The Graduate Student Government, or GSG, is the governing body of graduate students at UAB. The GSG Senate is composed of student representatives from all departments. The organization recently held elections for its 2020-21 officers. Welcome to the new GSG leadership team.

The Graduate School recognized five doctoral students and five master’s students as recipients of the 2020 UAB Samuel B. Barker Award for Excellence in Graduate Studies.