HSOM Chair Honorees(Back L to R) Drs. Erwin Van Meir, Brant Wagener, Lewis Shi, David Schneider, Farah Lubin, Suzanne Lapi, Mike Mugavero, Surya Bhatt, Amit Gaggar, Edie Hapner. (Front L to R) Drs. Michelle Gray, Karen Gamble, Karen Cropsey, Ray Watts, Luciano Costa, Bassel El-Rayes, and Renee Heffron.The Heersink School of Medicine recently honored faculty who have been appointed to endowed chairs or professorships by the University of Alabama System Board of Trustees. These endowments recognize the holder’s exceptional contributions to academic medicine and honor our generous donors who invest in the school’s tripartite mission of patient care, education and research. We congratulate the six Department of Medicine faculty — as well as the 12 others newly appointed to endowed roles — who were celebrated at the spring reception!

More Good News for May 05, 2023

Lead Story Continued:

Surya Bhatt, M.D., MSPH — Endowed Professorship in Airways Disease
Luciano Costa, M.D., Ph.D. — Mary and Bill Battle Endowed Professorship for Multiple Myeloma
Bassel El-Rayes, M.D. — Albert F. LoBuglio Endowed Chair for Translational Cancer Research
Amit Gaggar, M.D., Ph.D. — William C. Bailey, M.D., Endowed Chair in Pulmonary Disease.
Renee Heffron, Ph.D., MPH — Jim Straley Endowed Chair in AIDS Research
Mike Mugavero, M.D., MHSc — Jeanne M. Marrazzo, M.D., M.P.H., Endowed Professorship in Innovation and Advancement through Mentorship

Kertesz Named 2023 Max Cooper Awardee

Stefan Kertesz, M.D., (Professor, Preventive Medicine) received the 2023 Max Cooper Award for Career Excellence in Research in recognition of his scientific career which prioritizes research, development and implementation of healthcare solutions for homeless populations.

O'Neal Cancer Center Names Associate Director for Outreach

Timiya S. Nolan, Ph.D., has been named Associate Director for Community Outreach & Engagement at the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB, effective July 1, 2023. She will be appointed in the Division of Preventive Medicine as Associate Professor.

Bhatia and Young Appointed as Distinguished Professors

The University of Alabama System Board of Trustees awarded the rank of Distinguished Professor to DOM faculty Ravi Bhatia, M.D., (Hematology & Oncology) and Martin Young, D.Phil., (CVD). Congrats, Drs. Bhatia and Young.

Carrithers Selected for ASH MRH Award Program

Bria Carrithers, M.D., M.S., (PGY-2) will participate in the 2023 American Society of Hematology Minority Resident Hematology Award Program to investigate and create educational curricula that supports young adults with sickle cell through their reproductive decision-making process.

Staff High-Five: Going Purple for Pancreatic Cancer

Gastroenterology & Hepatology Administrative Assistant Jaclyn Witherspoon and Department of Surgery Clinical Care Coordinator Devin Gray organized the UAB Team, Duct Dynasty, for the local Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Purple Stride awareness event. The team contributed to the $68,718 raised in Alabama, which will support the PanCAN Early Detection Initiative, patient and caregiver support, and other resources.