pdfView the slides.

Lauren Shea, MD (PGY-1 Resident) has impressed one of the S9 nurses with her outstanding work on night float. “Lauren has been one of the best interns this year. She is super attentive to our patient’s needs, listens to our concerns and recommendations, demonstrates great respect toward the nursing staff, and responds swiftly and appropriately when she is needed. Lauren remains calm, even when we page her a hundred times an hour, and there is mass chaos going on around her.” The Department salutes you, Lauren! Keep up the good work.

Risk Adjusted Mortality for the entire Department of Medicine for the month of March 2015 is 0.87. This is below the UHC Median of 0.89.

Steven Lloyd, MD, PhD (Cardiovascular Disease) has received the 2014 Editor’s Recognition Award with Distinction in recognition of his outstanding efforts as a reviewer for RADIOLOGY.

Drs. Robert Gaston, Clifton Kew and Roslyn Mannon (Nephrology) were inducted last week as Fellows of the American Society of Transplantation, in recognition of exceptional commitment to the field of transplantation and outstanding service to the Society.

Steven M. Rowe, MD, MSPH (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) has co-authored the study “Lumacaftor with Invacaftor in CF Patients Homozygous for for Phe508del-CFTR.” It was published in the New England Journal of Medicine. The combination of the two drugs — an investigational drug used in conjunction with an already FDA-approved medication — improved lung function in patients with the F508del mutation, the most common CF mutation.  Read the UAB News story here.

Two faculty members from the Department of Medicine have received the first School of Medicine AMC21 Reload Multi-investigator Grants. A total of 45 grant proposals were submitted, and 4 grants were selected for funding:
  • Steven Rowe, MD (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) “The Pathogenesis and Treatment of Chronic Bronchitis”
  • Kenneth Saag, MD (Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology) “Optimizing Patient Engagement in Recommended Health Care: A Patient-Centered Approach”
  • William Britt, MD (Pediatrics) “Congenital CMV Infection in a Highly Seroimmune, Urban Maternal Population”
  • John Chatham, PhD (Pathology) “Protein O-GlcNAcylation: Central Mediator of Metabolic Induced Cardiovascular Complications”

Do you have Good News to share? If so, please email the Department of Medicine's Director of Communications, Carolyn Walsh.

pdfView the slides.

The UAB Sustainability Team has accepted the recycling proposal submitted by Nicholas Hoppmann, MD (Internal Medicine Resident). "A Bin for Every Can" will be increasing the availability of containers around the hospital for recycling your plastic bottles and aluminum cans.

DOM is proud to congratulate Ryan Outman (Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology/COERE) who was selected as April’s UAB Employee of the Month.

Ashwani Singal, MD (Gastroenterology and Hepatology) was recently awarded an R21 grant from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) to study bioenergetics and mitochondrial function among patients with alcoholic liver disease.

Ganesh Halade, PhD (Cardiovascular Disease) published an article entitled “Resolvin D1 Reduces Post Heart Attack Heart Failure” in the Journal of Molecular and Cellular Cardiology.

Surya Bhatt, MD (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care) has received a Young Investigator Award from the CPOD Foundation.

Qiana Matthews, PhD and Anitra Farrow, PhD (Infectious Diseases) received 2015 American Association of Immunologists Fellowships.

Ijeoma Obi has been selected as an American Physiological Society Porter Predoctoral Fellow for the 2015-2016 academic year. Ijeoma works in Jennifer Pollock’s lab and is in Pathobiology & Molecular Medicine graduate program.

Klaus Mönkemüller, MD (Gastroenterology and Hepatology) was Director for the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy and Spanish Society of Digestive Endoscopy’s April meeting on advanced endoscopy in Madrid, Spain.

Do you have Good News to share? If so, please email the Department of Medicine's Director of Communications, Carolyn Walsh.