The UAB Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology was ranked #11 among rheumatology programs in the nation according to U.S. News and World Report Best Hospitals Rankings. For the 25th consecutive year, Rheumatology was UAB’s top-ranked clinical program.

Kudos to Drs. Chad Lampl, Sara Marucci, Adam McKinney, and Emily Nance who demonstrated an “inspiring level of compassion and concern” toward a medical oncology patient last week. These residents’ commitment to care was reported by one of our night shift nurses, and we commend them for going the extra mile.

The Department is delighted to report that our Tinsley Teams made significant progress in writing discharge orders before 10:00 a.m. In June, only 15% of discharge orders were written before 10:00 a.m. In July, the number increased to 40%. Kudos to everyone involved in decreasing our patients’ wait times for beds: R.J. Blackburn, MD (Chief Medical Resident), Martin Rodriguez, MD, (Director of the Tinsley Harrison Service) and all our outstanding residents.

DOM Employees of the Month:
  • June 2015 was Nicole Temple (Hematology and Oncology). As a Business Officer in the Division, Nicole is responsible for a variety of financial, human resources, and administrative duties. She is always willing to tackle new tasks and responsibilities with a natural inclination toward problem solving. Nicole is also committed to service. She was the Chair of the original DOM Employee of the Month Selection Committee during the inaugural year of the program in 2012-13.
  • July 2015 is Debbie Frazer (Hematology and Oncology). Debbie has over 31 years of service in the Division. As a Medical Social Worker, she assesses patient needs, anticipates problems and initiates programs to assist both patients and their families. Her colleagues admire her dedication to her patients and report that Debbie owns the UAB Core Value “Do Right.”

In a Department of Medicine special study to find ways to decrease the burden of electronic health documentation on physicians, Katherine Romp, MD (GIM) reports initial success in recovering time spent in computerized physician order entry. By hiring a Patient Encounter Specialist to master all the ins and outs of entering orders, physicians are able to offload the computer interaction and spend more time with their patients. Positive results include improved order entry accuracy and increased wRVUs for physicians. Learn more about this exciting pilot program here.

Jennie Hamilton (Graduate Student, Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology) is one of six people awarded a Gina M. Finzi Memorial Student Summer Fellowship by the Lupus Foundation of America. She works in the lab of John Mountz, MD, PhD. Her research looks at Type 1 interferon induction of B cells that react to the body’s apoptotic cells, a reaction that is one of the hallmarks of systemic lupus erythematosus.

UAB's Comprehensive Transplant Institute has assumed responsibility for clinical operations related to heart, kidney, liver, lung, and pancreas transplantation. Under the directorship of Robert S. Gaston, MD (Nephrology) and co-directorship of Devin E. Eckhoff, MD (Surgery) and Charles W. Hoopes, MD (Surgery), the CTI will integrate physician and administrative leadership in solid organ transplantation to achieve its goals of delivering outstanding care, promoting research in transplantation and immunology, and training the next generation of transplant leaders. Read the full story here.

In order to increase ICU patients’ early mobility, the UAB Care ICU Quality Team recommended that bed rest should be ordered more selectively and only used for patients with certain clinical indications. The new bed rest order was implemented mid-June. This measure is a result of focused attention on PAD (pain, agitation, and delirium) critical care guidelines championed by Steve Stigler, MD (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) and the ongoing research of the Geriatric Scholars in Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care.