• Create and support a community of leaders in education and a culture of excellence in teaching
  • Foster the careers of educators in health professions
  • Provide programming to improve the skills of teachers
  • Stimulate and support the creation and implementation of innovative approaches to teaching, learning and assessment
  • Support educational research and scholarship in health professions education

3 Pillars

Health Educators Academy Pillars copy

  • Teaching Excellence: Academy members will be charged with offering faculty development in a variety of settings and venues, including mentoring of junior faculty, teaching workshops, and development of enduring educational materials such as videos, podcasts, etc. Academy members will oversee RIME week, UAB’s annual medical education week.
  • Career Advancement: the Academy will provide mentorship and tools to ensure promotion and advancement for members. It will do this through dedicated workshops and one-on-one mentoring.
  • Professional Meaning: the Academy will support professional wellbeing, and professionalism, including work-life balance and role modeling. It will do this through fostering a community of educators, as well as dedicated workshops and mentoring.


Dawn Taylor Peterson, Ph.D.

Dawn Taylor Peterson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Department of Medical Education, Heersink School of Medicine;
Department of Health Services Administration, School of Health Professions

Jason Morris, M.D., FACP

Jason Morris, M.D., FACP

Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Jerry Friedman, MPH

Jerry Friedman, MPH

Program Manager


More information coming soon. 

Steering Committee

Jason L. Morris, MD, FACP, Department of Medicine, Chair
Dawn Taylor Peterson, PhD, Department of Medical Education, Chair
Caroline Harada, MD, Department of Medicine
Lisa Willett, MD, MACM, FACP, Department of Medicine
Hussein D. Abdullatif, MD, Department of Pediatrics
David Ellington, MD, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Chad Burski, MD, Department of Medicine
Britney Corey, MD, Department of Surgery
Andrew Edwards, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine
Cathy M. Fuller, PhD, Department of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology
M. Tosi Gilford, MD, PA-C, School of Health Professions
Alice Goepfert, MD, Graduate Medical Education
Robin Lanzi, PhD, MPH, School of Public Health
Brenessa Lindeman, MD, MEHP, Graduate Medical Education
Desiree E. Morgan, MD, Department of Radiology
Wolfgang Mulhofer, MD, Department of Neurology
Michelle Robinson, DMD, MA, School of Dentistry
Cathy Roche, PhD, RN, School of Nursing
Adam Gordon, OD, OD, MPH, FAAO, School of Optometry
Kristine Hopkins, OD, MSPH, FAAO, School of Optometry

2021-2023 Cohort

Mentee Mentor
Dana Mitchell, DNP, ACNP-BC, CHFN Michelle Brown, PhD, MS, MLS(ASCP) SBB
Tamara S. Oechslin, OD, PhD, FAAO Tedra Smith,  DNP, CRNP, CPNP-PC, CNE
Tamika Smith, PhD Keshia Elder, OD, MS, FAAO
Bradley Barger, PhD Desiree Morgan, MD
Jaron Raper, MD Stephanie Berger, MD
Adam Edwards, MD Dawn Taylor Peterson, PhD
Stefanie Woodard, DO Dorothy Odgon, MSIS, AHIP
Danielle Sutzko, MD, MS Winter Williams, MD
Meghan Hofto, MD, MPH, FAAP Meredith Garten, PhD
Haller Smith, MD Susan Black, MD
Harshvardhan Singh, PhD Greg Pavela, PhD
Ramakiran Chavali BDS, MS David Resuehr, PhD