Explore UAB

UAB SON Building

Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair in Nursing

Photo of Maria Rodriguez Shirey


Dr. Maria R. Shirey is Dean, Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair in Nursing and Director of the PAHO/WHO Collaborating Centre for International Nursing. Prior to becoming Dean, Shirey was the School’s Associate Dean for Clinical and Global Partnerships and inaugural holder of the Jane H. Brock—Florence Nightingale Endowed Professorship in Nursing. She also previously chaired the Department of Acute, Chronic and Continuing Care. Shirey, who is board certified in advanced nursing executive practice and health care management, is an internationally recognized nurse scholar in leadership science and health services outcomes research, as well as an expert in sustainable interprofessional collaborative practice models advancing access to care for urban and rural vulnerable populations with chronic diseases. She was recognized in 2019 for her career contributions to advancing leadership and health systems science with the American Organization for Nursing Leadership Nurse Researcher Award. Her collaborative leadership work also has been recognized. In 2018, the UAB Nursing Partnership, between the School and UAB Health System, received the American Association of Colleges of Nursing’s New Era for Academic Nursing Award and in 2020 two of the interprofessional collaborative practices with UAB Medicine received the Creativity in Practice and Education Award from the National Academies of Practice.

Marie O’Koren Endowed Chair in Nursing

Photo of Ellen M. Lavoie Smith

Ellen M. Lavoie Smith, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN

Dr. Ellen M. Lavoie Smith is a Professor, Assistant Dean for Research and Scholarship, and the Marie O’Koren Endowed Chair at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing. Dr. Smith has lectured nationally and internationally regarding multiple cancer-related topics and has published 90 peer-reviewed manuscripts. Her research is well recognized as pioneering and pivotal in identifying interventions for chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy (CIPN), a life-altering complication of neurotoxic chemotherapy for which no known treatments have been discovered. She has received independent extramural research funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and foundation and industry sponsors. Her research revealed duloxetine efficacy for painful CIPN (JAMA, 2013). As a result, duloxetine is remains the only treatment for painful CIPN recommended by the American Society of Clinical Oncology (JCO, 2020). Further, she has led multiple instrument development studies involving both adults and children with CIPN. She currently leads an NCI/R01-funded Phase II-III trial to test duloxetine to prevent CIPN through the Alliance NCI-funded Cooperative Group network. As recognition for her pioneering work, Dr. Smith has received numerous national awards including the 2018 Fellows of the National Institute of Nursing Research Welch/Woerner Path Paver Award.

Rachel Z. Booth Endowed Chair in Nursing

Photo of Patricia Patrician

Patricia A. Patrician, PhD, RN, FAAN, Colonel, US Army (Retired)

Dr. Patricia A. Patrician is a Professor and Rachel Z. Booth Endowed Chair in Nursing at the School of Nursing, University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) in Birmingham, Alabama. She joined the UAB faculty in August 2008 after having served 26 years in the US Army Nurse Corps, where she held clinical, administrative, educational, and research positions. Prior to military retirement as a Colonel, she was the Chief, Department of Nursing Science, Academy of Health Sciences, Ft. Sam Houston, TX. At UAB, she teaches and mentors students in the PhD and the Executive Doctorate of Nursing Practice Programs. She conducts research on the nursing workforce and nursing’s contributions to patient safety and quality outcomes. Dr. Patrician is Co-Director of the VA Quality Scholars (VAQS) fellowship program at the Birmingham, AL site and mentors post-doctoral nurses, physicians, and pharmacists in quality improvement and improvement science activities. She also co-directs the Deep South Quality and Safety Regional Collaborative at UAB School of Nursing.

Doreen C. Harper, PhD, RN, FAAN Endowed Professorship in Nursing

Photo of J. Nicholas Odom

J. Nicholas Odom, PhD, RN, ACHPN, FPCN, FAAN

Dr. J. Nicholas Odom is an Associate Professor and the inaugural holder of the Doreen C. Harper, PhD, RN, FAAN Endowed Professorship in Nursing. He is a highly regarded national and international leader in nursing science, developing interventions and improvements in health care, quality of life and decision-making in palliative care and family caregiving for those with advanced cancer and heart failure in under-resourced populations. His program of research focuses on the development and testing of early palliative care coaching interventions to optimize the role and health of historically under-resourced family caregivers of individuals with serious illness, particularly advanced cancer and heart failure. He has complementary topical interests in the role of family caregivers in providing decision support to patients, lay healthcare navigators, and digital phenotyping. In addition to his role in the School, Odom is Associate Director of the UAB Center for Outcomes and Effectiveness Research and Education (COERE); Assistant Director of the UAB Center for Palliative and Supportive Care (CPSC); and is an Associate Scientist in the UAB O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer, UAB Minority Health and Health Equity Research Center, and UAB Center for Palliative and Supportive Care.