Michael Matthews receives Kinard Award from Winthrop University President Dan MahoneyMichael Matthews receives Kinard Award from Winthrop University President Dan MahonyMichael Matthews, Ph.D., alumnus of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsPhD in Administration-Health Services program, has been honored by Winthrop University with its top teaching award. On December 17, 2016, Matthews received the Kinard Award for Excellence in Teaching as part of Winthrop’s Commencement Ceremony.

Carolyn Da SilvaDa Silva with Faculty of the Year awardCarolyn Da Silva, PT, DSc, NCS, alumna of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsDepartment of Physical Therapy, was awarded the 2016 Outstanding Physical Therapy Faculty Award, recognizing merit in teaching, service, and reseach. She is the first UAB alumna to win the William Gould Memorial honor from the Texas Physical Therapy Association (TPTA).

Chuck StokesChuck Stokes (MSHA Class 17) EVP/COO, Memorial HermannThe prestigious Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, presented annually by the President of the United States, has been awarded to Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital. Two alumni of the UAB School of Health Professions’ Master of Science in Health Administration program hold significant roles in the hospital and the health system.

Chuck Stokes (MSHA Class 17) is EVP/COO of the Memorial Hermann Health System, and Kate Willis (MSHA Class 49) is the director of Service Line Operations for Sugar Land Hospital.

Billie and Marvin Racowsky (pictured left)Billie and Marvin Racowsky (pictured left)Marvin Racowsky developed an interest in medicine while serving in the air force. After service, he was looking for opportunities in medicine and discovered UAB’s PA program in LIFE magazine.

At this time, UAB PA was one of only two programs in the United States so Marvin moved to Birmingham where he met his wife Billie (who also became a PA) and gained invaluable support and experience from the faculty team at UAB.