Four Department of Medicine faculty had articles included in the New England Journal of Medicine “Notable Articles of 2015” publication. 

On February 1, 2016, units at UAB Highlands shifted the default “Tomorrow AM” lab draw time from the Midnight to 2:00 a.m. period to the 4:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. period. This has resulted in less interrupted sleep for patients! Thanks to Medical Directors Jim Hunter, Sujan Ravi, Brent Ponce, and Katrina Booth, as well as Nursing Director Beth Clarkson and Lab Director Dianne Morris. It took all of them, plus the tremendous support of the nursing managers, staff nurses, and patient care technicians, to make this important change in patient care.

The Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology has received a $1.34 Million T32 Training Program Grant from NIAMS. This five-year award will fund pre- and post-doctoral fellows in rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases research.

We are proud of the research presented by Department of Medicine trainees at last week’s annual Trainee Research Symposium.  The top winners (below) will present their research at the next DOM Clinical Research Seminar at noon on March 28 in WP-E.

The Department salutes Bruno Pereira, MD (PGY-2) who demonstrated exceptional empathy and caring on his recent CCU rotation. His active listening encouraged his patients and their families, and his respect for the nursing staff won their admiration. Kudos, Dr. Pereira!