Racquel Innis-Shelton, MD (Hematology and Oncology) recently lent her voice to the second annual live Twitter Chat on African-American Bone Marrow Awareness Month. Although blood disorders like sickle cell disease predominantly affect African-Americans, only 7% of registered marrow donors are African-American. #aabmam #letschangethis

Cynthia J. Brown, MD, MSPH (Director, Gerontology, Geriatrics and Palliative Care) has been selected as a 2016-2017 fellow of the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine program. ELAM is a year-long, part-time fellowship that prepares women faculty for senior leadership roles in academic health science institutions. 

UAB's Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation Program led by Keith Wille, MD (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) has received the Gold Level Award for Excellence in Life Support, designating UAB Hospital as a leader in caring for patients who require this long-term breathing and heart support. The recognition comes from Extracorporeal Life Support Organization, an international non-profit consortium of health care institutions who are dedicated to the development and evaluation of novel therapies for support of failing organ systems.

Efstathia Andrikopoulou, MD (Fellow, Cardiovascular Disease) was featured in a Birmingham Business Journal honor roll of up-and-coming leaders in health care, medical research, health education, health insurance and more.

Eric Wallace, MD (Nephrology) has conducted the first comprehensive, face-to-face visit for a home dialysis patient in the United States. The groundbreaking appointment was part of a pilot program funded by Baxter Healthcare which enabled UAB and the Alabama Department of Public Health to work in concert to bring subspecialty nephrology care to rural patients. Read the UAB News feature article here.