Supported by the Department of Pathology

This lecture honors Dr. C. Bruce Alexander for his many years of service to the Department of Pathology’s teaching mission in Undergraduate Medical Education, and Resident and Fellow education. Invited speakers will address new and exciting education in pathology and the future training of Pathology physicians.

alexander2Bruce Alexander, M.D.

2019 Lecture

"Why the Physician-Pathologist Matters: A Series of Vignettes in Honor of C. Bruce Alexander Lecture in Pathology Education"

Jacob Steinberg, M.D.
Professor and Program Director
Autopsy Service & Residency Training
Chair, Subcommittee of GME Wellness
Montefiore Medical College
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Thursday, February 28, 3-4 p.m.
West Pavilion Conference Center, Room E

Event Flyer

Dr. Jacob Steinberg is a Professor at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine & the Montefiore Medical Center. He received his medical degree at Stritch-Loyola University of Chicago, and was trained at the University of Pennsylvania and NYU, including Bellevue & VA hospitals. At Einstein, Dr. Steinberg chaired the AMA-LCME Committee for the Granting of the M.D. Degree, and was a founding member of the Dean’s Letter Committee (MSPE), and chaired the Medical Student Thesis Committee. Dr. Steinberg is Program Director of Residency Training & the Autopsy Service. He was a member of the ACGME Residency Milestones Committee, & Chair of the Program Directors’ (APC/PRODS). JJ chairs the GME Housestaff Wellness SubCommittee, which helps to improve the quality of life of 1500+ residents and fellows. He served (under both Democratic & Republican Administrations) on the Scientific Advisory Panel for the United States Environmental Protection Agency. He was an AAAS Fellow. Dr. Steinberg's awards include the Einstein’s Davidoff Teaching Honors Society, Einstein’s the Rosen Outstanding Teacher's Award, NIH Geriatric Leadership Academic Award, and Faculty Awardee, Bronx High School of Science, Science Education, Minority Students Program, and AOA faculty. He was a decade-long invited participant of the Dartmouth Health Care Leadership Institute. JJ has been awarded the National Distinguished Teaching Award in Graduate Medical Education in 2014 & is also the Montefiore Faculty & Alumni Physician Honoree for 2019.

Supported by the Department of Pathology and the Alabama Eye Bank

These lectures center on some aspect of forensic pathology practice. In keeping with the academic nature of the Coroner/Medical Examiner's Office in Jefferson County, the lectures focus on a topic highlighting research in forensic pathology that is occurring at the intersection of forensic pathology with another discipline.

Examples include: forensic pathology and radiology; forensic pathology and sudden unexplained death in epilepsy (SUDEP); forensic pathology and genetic testing, etc.

This year's lecture will feature:

"Optimizing Medical Examiner/Coroner Cooperation with Organ and Tissue Donation"
Presented by: Laura D. Knight, M.D.
Chief Medical Examiner and Coroner
Washoe County (Nevada) Regional Medical Examiner's Office

Thursday, December 12, 2019
8-9am in the West Pavilion Conference Center - Room E

Vlodavsky July 2018Dr. Israel Vlodavsky

Dr. Jay John Listinsky, an adjunct associate professor of pathology at UAB at the time of his untimely death in 2012, originally trained as a diagnostic radiologist but had a decades-long interest in fucosylated molecules and their overlapping physiologic properties. He collaborated with investigators in the Division of Anatomic Pathology for many years, which generated a number of novel manuscripts which added important data to the knowledge base of glycobiology. To further this work, his friends, colleagues, and family, spearheaded by his wife and UAB pathologist, Cathy, endowed this lectureship for future generations.


Israel Vlodavsky, Ph.D.
Professor, Technion Integrated Cancer Center (TICC) 
Head Tumor Biology Lab.

Dr. Vlodavsky will present the Sixth Annual Listinsky Lecture

Friday, August 30, 2019, 2-3 p.m., on the topic: 

"Heparanase: from basic research to novel therapeutics for cancer and inflammation"
in the Wallace Tumor Cnacer Institute, Room 101

Dr. Vlodavsky is the world’s leading expert on heparanase, an enzyme that cleaves heparan sulfate. He has authored over 400 articles mostly related to this remarkable enzyme that plays a key role in cancer progression and inflammation.    

It will be held at the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center's Wallace Tumor Institute Room 101, from 2:00-3:00 p.m.

iStock 172212825Supported by the financial support of Dr. Robert Pritchett, husband of Paulette Pritchett, and family.

This endowed lecture series is named in honor of Dr. Paulette Shirey Pritchett. Dr. Pritchett was a highly respected, young member of the UAB Department of Pathology when she unexpectedly passed away on August 4, 1984. Dr. Pritchett was a native Alabamian who obtained her medical degree from the University of Alabama, where she was awarded the Stewart Graves Award and the William Boyd Medal for her demonstrated excellence in pathology.

This year's lecture will feature: 

EricOlson 2018
Eric N. Olson, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Molecular Biology
UT Southwestern Medical Center
"Understanding Muscle Development, Disease, and Regeneration"

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

2 p.m.
Margaret Cameron Spain Auditorium

Biosketch for Dr. Eric N. Olson

Eric Olson is the founding Chair of the Department of Molecular Biology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. He also founded the Center for Regenerative Science and Medicine at UT Southwestern, which is advancing new strategies for organ regeneration.  In addition, Dr. Olson directs the Wellstone Clinical Research Center for Muscular Dystrophy Research at UT Southwestern.  He holds the Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair, the Pogue Chair Distinguished Chair in Cardiac Birth Defects and the Annie and Willie Nelson Professorship in Stem Cell Research.

Dr. Olson and his trainees discovered many of the key genes and mechanisms responsible for development of the heart and other muscles. His laboratory also unveiled the signaling pathways responsible for pathological cardiac growth and heart failure. Olson’s discoveries at the interface of developmental biology and medicine have illuminated the fundamental principles of organ formation and have provided new concepts in the quest for cardiovascular therapeutics. His most recent work has provided a new strategy for correction of Duchenne muscular dystrophy using CRISPR gene editing. 

Dr. Olson is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His work has been recognized by numerous awards, including the Basic Research Prize and Research Achievement Award from the American Heart Association, the Pasarow Medical Research Award, the Pollin Prize, the Passano Award, and the March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology. In 2009, the French Academy of Science awarded Dr. Olson the Lefoulon-Delalande Grand Prize for Science. He is among the most highly cited scientists in the world, with his work having been cited over 100,000 times (with an h-Index of 180) in the scientific literature.

Dr. Olson has co-founded multiple biotechnology companies to design new therapies for heart muscle disease. Most recently, he founded Exonics Therapeutics, which is advancing gene editing as a therapy for Duchenne muscular dystrophy.  In his spare time, he plays guitar and harmonica with The Transactivators, a rock band inspired by the Texas troubadour, Willie Nelson, who created the Professorship that supports his research.