Haley Herfurth

Haley Herfurth

| This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Carolyn Ashworth, Kohtaro Fujihashi, Jannet Katz, Rama Krishna and Leo Semes were honored as emeritus professors for exceptional service to the university and their profession.

retro art streamThe new dean is ready to extend the bridges to education, health, and wellness built on the foundations of 40-plus years of excellence.

Tammy Sharp, a financial officer in the Department of Neurosurgery, is UAB’s Employee of the Month.

During the past year, 10 faculty from varied disciplines developed ideas for service-learning to promote active and ethical citizenship, social responsibility and engagement in courses across disciplines.

UAB BTS logo FINALThe UAB Reporter wants to know how people in your unit volunteer. Submit a publicity request with the details and send a group selfie to reporter@uab.edu for a chance to be featured.

The University of Alabama System Board of Trustees awarded the rank Distinguished Professor to five — Stephen Barnes, Edwin Blalock, William Britt, Waldemar Carlo and Gregg Gilbert — during its meeting June 8.

The list sounds simple: Wear recyclable gloves. Unplug lab equipment. Defrost freezers. Use recyclable batteries. But if you have most all the labs in a major UAB research facility checking those boxes at once, it could mean big savings — in energy and dollars.

2018 honorees represent each school, the College of Arts and Sciences, the Honors College and the Joint Health Sciences departments.

The new program’s creation, inspired by inquiries from both practicing alumni and current occupational therapy students, is designed with post-professional students in mind.

What do mindfulness and meditation have in common with the hip-hop’s global consciousness? Those topics and more will be discussed by the 2018-2019 cohort of Honors Faculty Fellows during their yearlong fellowship beginning in August.

Page 48 of 68