Note: Given COVID-19, Ireland travel awards will be postpone until further notice.

The Ireland research travel awards are strategically targeted to provide students with unique and valuable opportunities. The research travel scholarship, which awards a maximum of $1,000, is not designed to send someone to a professional meeting; it’s designed to enable a student to capture an educational opportunity that doesn’t exist at UAB. These travel scholarships are highly competitive, and in the past have funded a wide range of researching, including a trip to the Library of Congress to study historic documents and taking a course on neuroimmunological diseases at the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole. These travel awards provide elite educational experiences that enrich not only our students, but UAB as a whole.

This award is funded by an endowment established at UAB by Caroline Ireland and the late Charles W. Ireland.

Interested students should contact their graduate program directors, who are responsible for making nominations. In addition to the nomination form, a letter of recommendation is also required. Students are encouraged to check this link or the Graduate Student tab of BlazerNET for the announcement of the next competition, which will be held in the spring of each year. 


2018 Recipients

Morgan Zipperly, Neurobiology

Dae Hyun, Health Services Administration

Jessica V. Jasien, Vision Science

Mandy Biles, Psychology

Jacelyn Peabody, Medicine -- CFRC

Melissa Bentley, Cell, Development, amd Integrative Biology

Mohammah Abdelgawwad, Pathology

Kwaku Osei, Vision Science

Lindsay MacMillan, Biology

Yumi Kim, Physical Therapy

Yuliya Voskobiynyk, Neurology

Carla Ammons, Psychology

Stephanie Mueller, Psychology

Julie Trapani, Psychology

Kayla Steward, Psychology

Ustun Sunay, Physics

2017 Recipients

Sarah Adkins, Biology

Haley Bednarz, Psychology

Elizabeth Bevan, Biology

Amy Bonka, Biology

Ashlyn Burch, Physics

Sandra Cutts, Civil, Construction & Environmental Egr

Megan Dudley, Psychology-Behavioral Neuroscience

Dominique Everett, Materials Science & Engineering

Timothy Curtis Howton II, Biology

Prajakta Shreeram Kulkarni, Biomaterials

Avantika Naidu, Physical Therapy

Shyam Panthi, Vision Science

Cameron Postnikoff, Vision Science

Kellie Regal, Pathology

Ross M Reid, Biology

Dustin Revell, Cell, Molecular, Dev Biology

Yue Zhang, Psychology