Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Explore UAB

The Compass Bank National Alumni Society Endowed Scholarship was established through generous gifts from the UAB National Alumni Society to be used for the purpose of creating an endowed graduate student award fund at The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Spendable earnings from the Compass Bank Mortgage Financial Services Endowed Award in Graduate Education fund will be used to provide financial assistance to exceptional students who are enrolled in a UAB graduate program.


The following guidelines will be used in administering and making awards from the Compass Bank Mortgage Financial Services Endowed Award in Graduate Education.

Applicants must:

  • be currently enrolled in, or admitted to, a degree-granting program in the Graduate School at UAB
  • demonstrate solid academic achievement and have earned at least a grade point average of 3.2 in coursework completed prior to the time of application
  • complete the scholarship application and return it to the Graduate School Dean's Office in LHL G03 by March 31, 2021
  • seek two letters of recommendation from individuals who are acquainted with the student’s academic and service achievements on campus
  • compose a 2-page essay on the topic “How have you been impacted by your service to UAB and the community?” (Note: Applicant should describe his/her service contributions within the campus and/or the community. Participation in organizations and activities promoting the applicant’s service should be outlined in this essay.)

Selection & Awarding

The selection committee will select the recipient based on the student’s academic merit , letters of recommendation, essay, and interview. There are no restrictions to applicants based on sex, race, nationality, country or origin, physical disability, veteran status, or sexual orientation.

Applicants will be notified via letter regarding their status after the selection committee has met.

This is an annual award valued at $2,500 that may be reapplied for in subsequent years as long as the eligibility criteria are met.

Back to Top