Explore UAB

Deans Excellence Award 

The Department of Medicine is thrilled to congratulate the eight faculty members who received 2022 Dean’s Excellence Awards. Awardees were nominated by peers and selected through a rigorous review process. There was Department representation in each award category, including teaching, research, service, mentorship, and diversity. Congratulations to each recipient for your outstanding contributions to the Heersink School of Medicine. We are extremely proud of all of you!

Sheetal Gandotra, MD, Excellence in Teaching, Junior Faculty
Shawn Galin, PhD, Excellence in Teaching; Senior Faculty
Eric Wallace, MD, Excellence in Service, Senior Faculty
Kelly Hyndman, PhD, Excellence in Research, Junior Faculty
J. Edwin Blalock, PhD, Excellence in Mentorship, Senior Faculty
Erin Snyder, MD, Excellence in Teaching, Senior Faculty
KeAndrea Titer, MD, Excellence in Diversity Enhancement, Junior Faculty
Nathan Erdmann, MD, PhD, Excellence in Service, Junior Faculty

More Good News for May 27, 2022

Katrina Moore (Administrative Associate, Nephrology) received the inaugural Kerley Excellence Award, an honor created in memory of beloved administrative associate Mozella Kerley that supports professional development activities for staff. Congrats, Katrina!

Tejaswini Kulkarni, M.D., (Assistant Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) was selected by the American College of Chest Physicians to serve on its steering committee to create material that helps reduce the time it takes to diagnose interstitial lung diseases.

Radhika Gangaraju, M.D., (Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology) will seek to understand the racial and socioeconomic factors associated with clonal hematopoiesis of indeterminate potential, a blood cell mutation that increases the risk of leukemia and cardiovascular disease.

Leah Leisch, M.D., (Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine) will direct the new ACGME Approved Addiction Medicine Fellowship program which aims to provide innovative and interdisciplinary clinical training for substance use.