Tucker 61022 Rodney Tucker, M.D., Professor and Interim Director, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care.

Rodney Tucker, M.D., (Professor and Interim Director, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care) collaborated with the Heersink School of Medicine Office for Diversity and Inclusion to create an LGBTQ+ Faculty Association. The new association aims to create a safe environment to connect and foster opportunities to promote greater understanding, support, and advocacy for faculty members of the LGBTQ+ community and its allies.

The LGBTQ+ Faculty Association will host its Kick Off Networking Event from 4:30 – 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, June 23 in the Wallace Tumor Institute Lobby.

Deans Excellence Award Back Row: Erin Snyder, M.D., Lauryn Schultz, MSHA, MBA, Terrance Reed, MBA, Mary Coleman Dobbins, MPH. Front Row: Amanda Brito, M.D., and Elizabeth Turnipseed, M.D., MSPH.

The Department of Medicine Clinical Leadership Team continues to grow in scope and expertise as we pursue our mission to provide exceptional patient care across the UAB enterprise. Each individual provides diverse perspectives to enrich the team.

Dr. Elizabeth Turnipseed serves as Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs and Chief of the Medical Staff, working with UAB Medicine leadership to strategically meet patient and provider needs. Dr. Erin Snyder is defining a new role as our inaugural physician director of Ambulatory Care, and Dr. Amanda Brito directs our efforts the Quality and Patient Safety domain.

On the administrative side, Lauryn Schultz is Senior Administrator for DOM Clinical Affairs working with Clinical Operations Administrator Mary Coleman Dobbins and Clinical Operations Manager Terrance Reed to collaborate with the School, Health System and the faculty across UAB's clinical settings.

Together, their work drives clinical expansions, establishes new programs, ensures quality care, expands access and improves efficiencies to enhance our patients’ experience at UAB.

Deans Excellence Award 

The Department of Medicine is thrilled to congratulate the eight faculty members who received 2022 Dean’s Excellence Awards. Awardees were nominated by peers and selected through a rigorous review process. There was Department representation in each award category, including teaching, research, service, mentorship, and diversity. Congratulations to each recipient for your outstanding contributions to the Heersink School of Medicine. We are extremely proud of all of you!

Sheetal Gandotra, MD, Excellence in Teaching, Junior Faculty
Shawn Galin, PhD, Excellence in Teaching; Senior Faculty
Eric Wallace, MD, Excellence in Service, Senior Faculty
Kelly Hyndman, PhD, Excellence in Research, Junior Faculty
J. Edwin Blalock, PhD, Excellence in Mentorship, Senior Faculty
Erin Snyder, MD, Excellence in Teaching, Senior Faculty
KeAndrea Titer, MD, Excellence in Diversity Enhancement, Junior Faculty
Nathan Erdmann, MD, PhD, Excellence in Service, Junior Faculty

MoveAbove: Dr. John Kennedy and Dr. Seth Landefeld  

This week, the Department of Medicine Chair's Office moved to the 12th floor of the Faculty Office Tower as its new home base. This is just one of 25 DOM space improvement projects precipitated by construction of the new Altec/Styslinger Genomic Medicine and Data Sciences building which will also house the Marnix E. Heersink Institute for Biomedical Innovation Conference Center. Of our 11 divisions, 10 have been involved in renovations and relocations in the past 18 months. Here's to everyone who has packed their offices, labs and clinics into boxes and bravely traded spaces! The hard work will ultimately lead us to workspace that makes us all proud.

Carter JacksonAbove: Left to Right: Rachelle Hall, Cindy Joiner, LaKisha Mack and Shane Wiley at the GBA/GIP meeting. 

Two leaders from the Heersink School of Medicine—Senior Associate Dean of Finance and Administration LaKisha Mack and Director of Finance Shared Services Rachelle Hall—joined two leaders from the DOM—Vice Chair Dr. Cindy Joiner, and Executive Administrator Shane Wiley—to facilitate a session on shared services at the AAMC Group on Business Affairs and Group on Institutional Planning 2022 Joint Spring Meeting. Their presentation outlined how the School, HSF Practice Plan and Department worked together to create shared services programs, addressing funding models, sustainability, leadership and structure, challenges and lessons learned. We salute them for their leadership in this national venue!