Baskin webMonica Baskin, PhD (Professor, Preventive Medicine) received the 2019 President’s Diversity Champion Award for her research with community engagement to better understand and address social determinants of minority health and health disparities. She also serves on multiple university committees focused on equity, diversity and inclusion. She is part of the inaugural cohort of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Culture of Health Leaders Program, and she chairs both the Jefferson County Collaborative for Health Equity and the new Jefferson County Health Action Partnership. Congrats, Dr. Baskin!

HuangThe Center for Palliative and Supportive Care partnered with Palliative Psychology and Counseling Services to provide patient and family-centered care through the Thumbs Up for Love legacy project. Sylvia Huang, PhD (Assistant Professor, Gerontology, Geriatrics and Palliative Care) came up with the idea to pair the thumbprint of a patient with one of a family member, to create the shape of a heart. This special craft has given families the comfort needed while coping with illnesses and end of life.

Diabetes webYvonne Dennis and Deborah Nummy are celebrating 60 years of managing Type 1 Diabetes. Over the last six decades, treatment for Type 1 Diabetes looks a lot different than it did back then, however, strides in disease management, insulin technology and public knowledge has helped dramatically change the way diabetes can be treated. It has saved the lives of patients like Yvonne and Deborah, thanks to the care provided by Amy Warriner, MD (Associate Professor, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism) and other physicians in the division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism. Read the UAB News Article.

Noha SharafeldinNoha Sharafeldin, PhD (Instructor, Hematology and Oncology) was awarded the Amy Strelzer Manasevit Research Program for the Study of Post-Transplant Complications grant funded by the Be the Match Foundation. With this grant, Dr. Sharafeldin plans to study the impact of cognitive training for patients after allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation. Kudos, Dr. Sharafeldin!

AroraPankaj Arora, MD (Assistant Professor, Cardiovascular Disease) received the 2019 UAB School of Medicine Pittman Scholar Award. Dr. Arora’s lab focuses on the role of natriuretic peptide signaling in cardiometabolic disease. Congrats, Dr. Arora!