rheumatology family lead webPictured above L to R: Mandy Williams, Peggy Pack, Shelby Truitt share their journey and treatment at UAB rheumatology

For all three generations of one family — a grandmother, daughter and mother, and granddaughter — rheumatic diseases have linked them together in a dramatic way. With both rheumatoid arthritis and lupus involved, the family receives treatment here at UAB from rheumatology physician Winn Chatham, MD. The three report that they are able to lead full and active lives thanks to Dr. Chatham’s expert care.

Bhatt Lead Web

Surya Bhatt, MD (Associate Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) has for the first time demonstrated the validity of the specific spirometry criteria for diagnosing clinically significant chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, settling a long-standing controversy among pulmonologists. His findings were reported in the June issue of JAMA. We celebrate your success, Dr. Bhatt!

dransfield web

Mark Dransfield, MD (Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine) will lead the UAB arm of a multi-site study to explore how vaping, environment and lifestyle impact long-term lung health in millennials. Findings from the study will arm doctors with information to recognize respiratory problems early and intervene before patients develop chronic lung disease.

IM4residentevals webCallie Stein, MD, solicit patient feedback for resident evaluations.

General Internal Medicine faculty Erin Snyder, MD (Associate Professor) and Teresa Bryan, MD (Professor) have developed an “old school” survey to solicit feedback for residents providing care in the BVAMC Red Clinic and the UAB IM4 Clinic. The questionnaire asks patients to rank their physicians on a 1-5 scale to report. Patient response has been overwhelmingly positive, with overall ratings at 4.9. The free text comments were also terrific:

- She listened and answered questions. She also looked up information about my specific concerns regarding (my condition).

- Patient, great bedside manner! I request (this MD) for next appointment.

- Amazing. He listened to what I said.

Drs. KeAndrea Titer and Stephen RussellGIM faculty KeAndrea Titer, MD, and Stephen Russell, MD, are leading a program to study and reduce physician burnout among our residents, along with three other hospitals around the nation. Dr. Russell and Dr. Titer will implement the AMA “Re-imagining Residency” grant with the goal of improving resident wellness and clinical skills.