Explore UAB

trainee research symposium awardees and runner ups 750x350

TRS is always an amazing highlight of the hard work and talent among our trainees in basic science and clinical research. For this year’s poster presentation, abstracts were submitted by undergraduate students, graduate students, post-doctoral scholars, residents, and associate fellows. Each poster was judged on scientific merit, presentation and communications skills, and evidence that the trainee understood the significance of their work and played the major role in obtaining the data upon which the poster was based.

The TRS Keynote Speaker was Steffanie Strathdee, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Global Health Sciences and Distinguished Professor in the UCSD School of Medicine, who presented Superbugged: The Story Behind the First Dedicated Phage Therapy Center in North America. 

A special thank you to the DOM Research Excellence Advancement and Mentoring Council and DOM faculty who served as judges. We appreciate everyone for their continued support of research in our Department!

Congratulations to the 2023 DOM TRS Winners! 


Jhalak Dholakia, MD

Jhalak Dholakia, MD

J. Claude Bennett Award for Excellence in Research by an Associate Fellow

Division: Gynecologic Oncology

Mentor: Maria Pisu, Ph.D.

Poster title: Social Determinants of Health are Associated with Cancer Survivors’ Enrollment into a Large Exercise and Diet Study

Mary Latimer, PhD

Mary Latimer, PhD

Joseph Reeves Award for Excellence in Research by a Postdoctoral Scholar

Division:  Cardiovascular Disease

Mentor: Martin Young, Ph.D.

Poster title: Genetic Disruption of the Cardiomyocyte Circadian Clock Impacts Diurnal Variations in Cardiac miRNA Species

Maria Gabriela Gastanadui, MD

Maria Gabriela Gastanadui, MD

Thomas N. James Award for Excellence in Research by a Resident 

Division: Cardiovascular Disease

Mentor: Gregory Payne, M.D., Ph.D.

Poster title: A spatial transcriptomic approach to understanding coronary atherosclerotic plaque stability

Sara Biswal, MS

Sara Biswal, MS

Jeanne M. Marrazzo Award for Excellence in Research by a Staff Scientist

Division: Nephrology

Mentor: Carmen De Miguel, Ph.D.

Poster title: Vascular Endothelin-1 Mediates Hyperoxia-Induced Cellular stress in Kidney Vessels

Claudia Edell

Claudia Edell

Samuel B. Barker Award for Excellence in Research by a Graduate Student

Division: Neprhology

Mentor: Jennifer Pollock, Ph.D

Poster title: Time Restricted Feeding in Diet Induced Obesity Reverses Diurnal T cell Rhythms in the Kidney

Rachael Cowan

Rachael Cowan

Suzanne Oparil Award for Excellence in Research by an Undergraduate Student

Division:  Hematology and Oncology

Mentor: Noha Sharafeldin, DrPH

Poster title: Association between Self-Reported Outcomes (sleep, fatigue, anxiety, and depression) and Cognitive Functioning in Hematologic Cancer Patients Treated with Blood or Marrow Transplant (BMT)


2023 TRS Poster Semi-Finalists