Explore UAB

Max D. Cooper, MD. Photo courtesy of UAB ArchivesThe Department of Medicine established the Max Cooper for Career Excellence in Research Award in honor of Max D. Cooper, MD, to recognize outstanding research achievements by Department of Medicine faculty. Dr. Cooper is an extraordinary example of a distinguished academic researcher. He was professor of medicine, pediatrics, microbiology, and pathology, as well as Director of the Division of Developmental and Clinical Immunology at UAB.

Dr. Cooper became UAB's—and Alabama's—first Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. He was elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences in 1989, making him the first scientist in Alabama to receive this honor. The Max Cooper Award is given annually to faculty with a primary appointment at the level of Associate or Full Professor in the Department of Medicine to recognize researchers that have gained national recognition for important research discoveries over their scientific career.

Applications currently closed.

2024 Awardee

Surya Bhatt, MD

Surya Bhatt, MD

Division of Pulmonary, Allergy & Critical Care Medicine

For additional information, contact DOM Research.

Connect With Us Today