Carter Jackson Above: Dr. Kate McCarty gets a new photo for the program web site.  

The Tinsley Harrison Residency Program launched its 2022 intern class into clinical rotations on Thursday, with a palpable sense of anticipation and excitement among those gathered in WP-E. Our categorical class of 37 bright young physicians comes from 21 different medical schools, with 4 (11%) underrepresented in medicine, 12 (32%) women, and 9 (24%) UAB students. We look forward to seeing our interns grow over the next three years.

Carter Jackson L to R: Drs. Gabriela Gastanadui, John Craver, and Brian Westbrook  

UAB’s Medical Jeopardy Team from the Tinsley Harrison Internal Medicine Residency Program took home the coveted Osler Cup from the Alabama/Mississippi American College of Physicians Doctors Dilemma competition. Second-year residents Drs. Brian Westbrook, John Craver, and Gabriela Gastanadui participated in the contest which is a annual event that brings together the brightest residents from around the world in a “Jeopardy” style medical knowledge battle. The residents will represent the chapter at the national ACP meeting in San Diego next spring. Great job, team!

Tucker 61022 Rodney Tucker, M.D., Professor and Interim Director, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care.

Rodney Tucker, M.D., (Professor and Interim Director, Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Palliative Care) collaborated with the Heersink School of Medicine Office for Diversity and Inclusion to create an LGBTQ+ Faculty Association. The new association aims to create a safe environment to connect and foster opportunities to promote greater understanding, support, and advocacy for faculty members of the LGBTQ+ community and its allies.

The LGBTQ+ Faculty Association will host its Kick Off Networking Event from 4:30 – 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, June 23 in the Wallace Tumor Institute Lobby.

Deans Excellence Award Back Row: Erin Snyder, M.D., Lauryn Schultz, MSHA, MBA, Terrance Reed, MBA, Mary Coleman Dobbins, MPH. Front Row: Amanda Brito, M.D., and Elizabeth Turnipseed, M.D., MSPH.

The Department of Medicine Clinical Leadership Team continues to grow in scope and expertise as we pursue our mission to provide exceptional patient care across the UAB enterprise. Each individual provides diverse perspectives to enrich the team.

Dr. Elizabeth Turnipseed serves as Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs and Chief of the Medical Staff, working with UAB Medicine leadership to strategically meet patient and provider needs. Dr. Erin Snyder is defining a new role as our inaugural physician director of Ambulatory Care, and Dr. Amanda Brito directs our efforts the Quality and Patient Safety domain.

On the administrative side, Lauryn Schultz is Senior Administrator for DOM Clinical Affairs working with Clinical Operations Administrator Mary Coleman Dobbins and Clinical Operations Manager Terrance Reed to collaborate with the School, Health System and the faculty across UAB's clinical settings.

Together, their work drives clinical expansions, establishes new programs, ensures quality care, expands access and improves efficiencies to enhance our patients’ experience at UAB.

Deans Excellence Award 

The Department of Medicine is thrilled to congratulate the eight faculty members who received 2022 Dean’s Excellence Awards. Awardees were nominated by peers and selected through a rigorous review process. There was Department representation in each award category, including teaching, research, service, mentorship, and diversity. Congratulations to each recipient for your outstanding contributions to the Heersink School of Medicine. We are extremely proud of all of you!

Sheetal Gandotra, MD, Excellence in Teaching, Junior Faculty
Shawn Galin, PhD, Excellence in Teaching; Senior Faculty
Eric Wallace, MD, Excellence in Service, Senior Faculty
Kelly Hyndman, PhD, Excellence in Research, Junior Faculty
J. Edwin Blalock, PhD, Excellence in Mentorship, Senior Faculty
Erin Snyder, MD, Excellence in Teaching, Senior Faculty
KeAndrea Titer, MD, Excellence in Diversity Enhancement, Junior Faculty
Nathan Erdmann, MD, PhD, Excellence in Service, Junior Faculty