In today’s world of ever-changing requirements for graduate medical education, UAB remains committed to preserving our core values of excellence in medicine: the highest degree of skill and clinical reasoning, the lifelong pursuit of knowledge, and the deepest respect for the patient as a person.

UAB’s residency and fellowship programs are structured to provide a diverse clinical experience in inpatient and outpatient settings at four unique hospital sites in Birmingham – UAB Hospital, UAB Highlands, the Birmingham Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and Children’s of Alabama – as well as on our regional campuses in Montgomery, Huntsville and Tuscaloosa. We also offer a family medicine residency program in Selma, in Alabama’s Black Belt.

We are committed to our trainees’ professional and personal growth, including developing their skills as team leaders and teachers, researchers, critical appraisers of evidence-based literature, and providing them with the skills to become advocates in patient safety and quality care.

Alice Goepfert, M.D.
Associate Dean, GME
Designated Institutional Official
agoepfer@uabmc.edu

Brenessa Lindeman, M.D.
Associate DIO for the Clinical Learning Environment
blindeman@uabmc.edu

Jennie Craft
Director
jcraft@uabmc.edu

Karley Nemeth
Manager
knemeth@uabmc.edu

Brittany Burnett
Accreditation Analyst
baburnett@uabmc.edu

Lauryn Lewis
Education Coordinator
ljlewis@uabmc.edu

Chloé Bunn
Program Coordinator II
cbunn@uabmc.edu

Gayle Sloan
Program Coordinator II
gaylesloan@uabmc.edu

David Bailey
Financial Associate
djbailey@uabmc.edu


Mailing Address:
Graduate Medical Education
UAB Hospital
619 S 19th Street
Birmingham, AL 35249 
Physical Location:
UAB Hospital
Jefferson Tower
Room J136
Birmingham, AL 35249 
Phone: 205.934.4793
Fax: 205.975.9279 

GME Hotline: 934-5025