The Office of Undergraduate Medical Education (UME) is charged with supporting the planning, implementation, and evaluation of the undergraduate medical curriculum for the MD degree. The Office of UME addresses this charge by working with course/clinical director leadership, collaborating with other Heersink School of Medicine units, and responding to oversight and review of the curriculum by the Medical Education Committee (MEC). The MEC is responsible for reviewing curriculum evaluation data, providing feedback, and approving changes to the curriculum that are then relayed to the Office of UME for implementation in the MD educational program in a cycle of continuous quality improvement in the undergraduate medical education program.

Staff

Kevin Leon, MD
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
Professor, Medicine - Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care
kleon@uab.edu

James Willig, MD, MSPH
Assistant Dean for Clinical Education
Professor, Medicine - Infectious Diseases
jwillig@uab.edu

Faculty & Curriculum Development

Kristina Panizzi-Woodley Blackwell, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medical Education
Director, Faculty & Curriculum Development in Medical Education
Director, PROSPER-Med2ED Program
kristina@uab.edu

Educational Research, Evaluation, & Assessment

Anne Zinski, PhD
Associate Professor, Medical Education
Director, Educational Research, Evaluation, & Assessment
Director, MEDRIG Medical Education Research Interest Group
azinski@uab.edu

Educational Data Management & Analysis

James Jackson, PhD
Professor Emeritus, UME Consultant
jjackson@uab.edu

Curriculum Development, Management, Evaluation

Mike Belue
Program Manager, Office of UME
UME Curriculum Support Staff Team Leader
Co-Enrolled Electives & Special Topics
mbelue@uab.edu

Assessment Testing, Grade Data Management, Educational Technologies

Kenneth Hurd
Senior Instructional Design Specialist
SOM Testing Administrator
ken84@uab.edu

Curriculum Support, Volker Hall Facilities Scheduling

Tiffany Henderson
Office Services Specialist
thenders@uab.edu

Curriculum Support, Module Coordination

Nancy Massey
MS-1 Module Coordinator
nanhunt@uab.edu

Sharon Noser
MS-2 Module Coordinator
snoser@uab.edu

Introduction to Clinical Medicine & Clinical Skills Scholars Program

Anna (Neklyudova) Munger
ICM Program Director
henkian@uab.edu

Freddie Walker, Jr.
ICM Program Coordinator
fwalkerjr@uab.edu

Office of Scholarly Activity

Peter R. Smith, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology
Director, Scholarly Activity
prsmith@uab.edu