Medical Student Services is the student affairs office for the medical school. We support the academic mission with a focus on student wellness, personal growth and professional development. We weave a support system through learning communities, individual career advising, academic tutoring, and service learning opportunities. 

Medical Student Services partners with the below offices to support student development.

    • The Physician-Scientist Development Office manages most of research students do the summer after first year. They also have information about on-going research projects all over campus.  
    • The Scholarly Activity Office gives leadership to the scholarly activity block during clerkships, and oversees the CaRES summer research project.
    • Students presenting their research at regional or national meetings and who wish to apply for funding, can do so via the Medical Student Travel Award page.  
    • We have an entire office dedicated to helping medical students navigate financial aid applications, questions about loan money, apply for scholarships, and get coaching on budgeting and debt management.
    • Each regional campus has its own campus dean as well as an office of student affairs and educational staff available to answer questions and address concerns. Each of the primary campus contacts is listed below.
    • The Office of Diversity & Inclusion, Student Affairs serves all students in the UAB School of Medicine community.
MSS On-Call

An MSS dean or director is always on call. You can reach MSS On-Call anytime by calling UAB Paging 205-934-3411 and asking to page the MSS Director on Call. 

ReportIt
    • ReportIt is an online system students can use to report concerns or commendations about anything related to medical school faculty, students, staff, or facilities. 
    • Certain deans receive the reports, depending on the type of concern or commendation submitted. 
    • Students have the option to submit a report anonymously, but we encourage you to include your name, so if a dean needs to ask follow-up questions they can. Anonymous reports are often difficult to act on in a meaningful way. 
    • You can submit a report by clicking here
Who to Contact

Denise Coston, MAE
Administrative Associate (for Dr. Van Wagoner & Dr. Peterson)
P: 205.934.0556
dcoston@uab.edu
Brook A. Hubner, MEd
Director of Academic Success
P: 205.934.1007
bhubner@uab.edu
Jill Sharp, MA
Academic and Career Success Advisor
P: 205.975.8564
jsharp1@uab.edu 
Caleb Rotton, MEd
Academic and Career Success Advisor
P: 205.934.5667
ccrotton@uab.edu
Rachel Daniel, MA
Academic and Career Success Advisor
P: 205.934.5628
rdaniel1@uab.edu 
Todd Peterson, MD
Assistant Dean for Students
P: 205.934.0556 
tpeterson@uabmc.edu 
Lanita S. Carter, PhD
Director of Medical Education and Student Services
Huntsville Regional Medical Campus
P: 256.551.4465
lanitacarter@uabmc.edu 
Ramona H. Hicks, EdD
Director of Medical Education and Student Services
Montgomery Regional Medical Campus
P: 334.747.7554
rhart@uab.edu
Dale Dickinson, PhD
Director of Medical Student Affairs
Tuscaloosa Regional Medical Campus
P: 205.532.4668
dadickinson@ua.edu
Kaitlin Higginbotham
Program Administrator for Medical Student Services
P: 205.975.8565
khigginb@uab.edu
Jason Noah, MEd
Program Director for Student Success
P: 205.934.3483
jnoah@uab.edu 
Caroline Harada, MD 
Assistant Dean for Community-Engaged Scholarship
P: 205.934.0556
charada@uabmc.edu
Claire Finney
Program Manager for Office of Service Learning
P: 205.934.9212
clairefinney@uab.edu
Carlton Young, MD
Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion
cyoung@uabmc.edu  
Carolyn L. Maddox
Administrative Associate
P: 205.934.7975
cmaddox@uab.edu
Jennifer (Jenna) Blythe-Tjia, MEd
Program Manager for Diversity and Inclusion
P: 205.934.7908
jbt@uab.edu 
Erica Brown
Program Manager for Minority Enhancement
P: 205.934.7973
ebrown@uab.edu 
Randy Seay, MA, MPA, MPH
Physician-Scientist Development Office
P: 205.934.4092
rseay@uab.edu 
Peter R. Smith, PhD
Director, Scholarly Activity
P: 205.934.4170
prsmith@uab.edu 
April M. Boyd
Coordinator, Scholarly Activity
P: 205.934.4130
aboyd@uab.edu 
LaShaundria Thomas
Program Manager – Medical Student Financial Services
P: 205.934.2332
llthomas@uab.edu